A Little of This and A Little of That (of course, a Nitro Update)

If you’re reading this in email or on Facebook, click on the title! It will take you directly to the blog (an easier viewing page.) If you’re already in my blog, WELCOME! (One more hint: If you click on any of the photos in the blog, they should open up in a browser window so you can get a better look!)

 

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

I seriously doubt that I’ll get another blog out before the big day, so I want to make absolutely certain that I wish all of you the happiest of holidays!

 

The Tree is Up!

The Tree is Up!

This year, I vowed that I would have all my decorating and package wrapping done at least a week before Christmas. Uh, no, it just didn’t happen. I did get my house decorated somewhat for Christmas the weekend following Thanksgiving; but this year my baking, package wrapping, and prep for Christmas dinner is WAY behind! I don’t know where the time went at all! I do work, so my time is fractured, but that really doesn’t explain it. I’ve worked ever since I was a kid (starting in high school and college), and time has never gotten away from me like it has now. Maybe the organizational skills reduce as the silver hairs increase…

 

Progress!

 

For those of you who are wondering how I’m doing with my diet, I’m pretty pleased with myself. I’ve lost just a little over 20 pounds. I really feel like I’ve turned the corner with my new plan. In case you haven’t read that post, I’m keeping track of every morsel I eat. I found myfitnesspal.com , and it’s working for me. I have to admit, though, that I absolutely do not intend to track a single thing I eat during our group Christmas party at work or for Christmas Eve or Christmas day. This is a program that I will have to live by for the rest of my days. Depriving myself of all goodies at all times is a recipe for failure. A wise man (a doctor) once told me, “It’s not what you eat between Thanksgiving and Christmas that hurts you. It’s what you eat from Christmas to Thanksgiving.”

 

Another real plus for us is that there are several, top-of-the-line exercise machines in our hangar. This has been a real benefit for me. Every morning before I start work, I use the elliptical trainer for about seven minutes and an exercycle for another five to seven minutes. There are also weights and toning machines that really make a difference. I truly haven’t felt this healthy in a number of years.

 

A Terrific Addition!

 

Vinessa with Nitro

Vinessa with Nitro

I am giddy with joy! Vinessa – our angel – has decided that she and her family are staying in Michigan! She’s a Michigan girl to begin with. Ever since that terribly frightening accident on the way to Michigan from Montana, Vinessa has known that she wanted to live in her native state with all her family around her.

 

She and her family used to make the amazing trek from California to Michigan (and back) four times a year. What kind of toll would that take on anyone? I just can’t imagine it. This decision makes complete sense for her and her little ones.

 

At present, Vinessa is considering starting her own German Shepherd Dog rescue. They’ve already located a house and she’s got a line on a shepherd in need of a foster home. I have to hand it to this gal, when she puts her mind to something, it’s done. If you want to watch, don’t blink!

 

Nitro!

 

Nitro is doing absolutely fabulously! He is absolute proof that miracles DO happen and that there is a plan. I certainly can’t explain all the myriad of things that had to fall into place, perfectly, to save him and bring him home to Nichole, Teyha, Jack, and us any other way. There had to be a “plan.”

 

Here are some photos just a short six days since we met Vinessa and brought Nitro to his furever home. He’s put on weight and he’s getting very strong.

 

This photo is Nitro showing how much weight he’s put on and that his ribs are no longer standing out.

 

Nitro getting STRONGER!

Nitro getting STRONGER!

Here he is almost pulling Jack’s arm out of the socket.

 

Hang on Jack!

Hang on Jack!

One of the most remarkable things about Nitro (and there are so many) is that he’s still a very friendly boy. One would expect that he would be a little shy around strangers. Since he, somehow, ended up on the street, you would think that someone didn’t treat him very well. He also shows signs that he wasn’t well cared for for quite some time. This is why it completely amazes me that he is so happy to meet new people. The photo below shows one of my coworkers right after getting a complete “face wash” from a quick Nitro tongue.

 

Her face tasted GOOD!

Her face tasted GOOD!

Nitro has completely adopted his new family. He is completely smitten with “his girl.” He welcomes her home with joyous yodels and dancing. A happier dog I’ve never seen.

 

Like They Should Be

Like They Should Be

Once again, I want to thank all of you who have been praying for our boy and us. I can’t imagine a happier outcome for him (and for his family).

 

Keep believing!

 

Up Next: We Made It!

 

Would you like to subscribe to my blog? (Oh, yes, it’s free!) Hopefully, you have already clicked on the title and are now directly in my blog page. If you have not gotten to the blog page, click on the title of the Posting and it will take you to the blog. From there, click on “Follow.” I hope you will. You will be notified of each new posting. I also hope you will jump in and comment on my posts.

 

Looking forward to “seeing” you here on Colmel’s Blog!

Leave a Reply

