WIDMSV – Munising: Miners’ Castle and Shipwreck Tour

If you’re reading this in email or on Facebook, click on the title! It will take you directly to the blog (an easier viewing page.) If you’re already in my blog, WELCOME! (One more hint: If you click on any of the photos in the blog, they should open up in a browser window so you can get a better look!)

 

WIDMSV? What I Did on My Summer Vacation!

 

 

After the long, hot and ambitious day we had on Day 2 of our vacation (Birding, Big Bay, and Gwinn), one would think we would just sit back and relax. Not a chance! Hey, we only get to do this once a year – if we’re lucky. After another blueberry breakfast (Finnish pancakes with blueberry sauce and blueberry buckle; but, still, no meat), off to Munising we went.

One of the Formations
Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore

 

Munising is east of Marquette and is famous for its Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore (http://www.nps.gov/piro/index.htm). A few years ago, we went on a Pictured Rocks cruise. I have to say that this is one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen. The water in Lake Superior is so clear that it is possible to see as far down as 100 feet in some places. The national lakeshore has been scrupulously kept pristine and, for that, we should all be grateful. No t-shirt shops or hot dog stands mar the incredible natural beauty. If we had more time available, we’d absolutely go on that cruise again.

Great Lakes
Superior – darker color

 

For all y’all who have never actually seen the Great Lakes, I have to give you some information about Lake Superior. Before I saw the Great Lakes for the first time, I had no point of reference. My idea of a big lake is Lanier in Georgia. I grew up in Florida, so had always heard about Lake Okeechobee. I did actually drive around part of Okeechobee, but you don’t get visuals like you do the Great Lakes. The only thing I can equate looking out on one of the Great Lakes – especially Superior – is looking at the Gulf of Mexico or the ocean. You absolutely can NOT see the other side. They are so vast! Nothing really could prepare me for experiencing the Great Lakes and I am still stunned every time I see them.

Lake Superior
(NASA photo from Space)

 

For some terrific facts on Lake Superior, I’m attaching the following link: http://law2.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/ftrials/superior/superiorfacts.html

 

Some of my favorite points from this website are:

 

  • Lake Superior is, by surface area, the world’s largest freshwater lake.
  • The surface area of Lake Superior (31,700 square miles or 82,170 square kilometers) is greater than the combined areas of Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, and New Hampshire.
  • The Lake Superior shoreline, if straightened out, could connect Duluth and the Bahama Islands.
  • Lake Superior contains as much water as all the other Great Lakes combined, even throwing in two extra Lake Eries.
  • Lake Superior contains 10% of all the earth’s fresh surface water.
  • There is enough water in Lake Superior (3,000,000,000,000,000 — or 3 quadrillion — gallons) to flood all of North and South America to a depth of one foot.
  • The deepest point in Lake Superior (about 40 miles north of Munising, Michigan) is 1,300 feet (400 meters) below the surface.

    Miner’s Castle

 

We had made reservations to take a shipwreck tour, but arrived too early. We decided to take a side-trip to Miner’s Castle. We’d seen the formation from the Pictured Rocks Tour, but it is also accessible from the land side. While Jim walked out to get a closer look, I stayed around the parking lot because it was full of American Redstarts. I tried to be as unobtrusive as possible and it sure paid off as I watched a female American Redstart gleaning bugs and take them into her nest. That was a first for me. I also got a charge out of watching her mate chase off every other bird who dared to come into their domain.

Lake Superior
Miner’s Castle in foreground

 

As I was watching the birds, a family (mom, dad and young son) came up and asked if I was birding. When I assured them that I was and that I didn’t at all mind answering questions (if I was able), they told me that they were from California and that their son was very interested in birds. I showed him the area to watch and he was thrilled to watch the female redstart going in and out of her hidden nest. Those moments, watching young people react to birds, are the best!

Female Redstart

 

Off to the docks we went. We have been so lucky, and our luck held! Both times we have planned and gone on boat rides on Superior, it’s been flat calm. I know y’all read my posts about The Edmund Fitzgerald (right?). Superior can be one angry, scary gal when she wants to be. For us, she’s been quite the lady.

 

We got down to the dock and boarded our glass-bottomed boat (http://shipwrecktours.com/) to three shipwrecks – the Bermuda, the Herman H. Hettler, and a French, Scow-Schooner that is, at present, un-identified (although it may be more than 400 years old, having been used in the fur trade) We also got the opportunity to go past the East Channel Lighthouse, both on the way out and back. The boat was quite full, but the tour operators were professional and made certain that everyone got an opportunity to see each of the shipwrecks. I knew that the waters of Superior were clean and clear, but this trip really brought that fact home. Although some of the ships were in 20+ feet of water, it was really easy to see the wreckage and make out boards, planks, fixtures (including a captain’s bathtub), passageways, and wheels.

Wreck of the Herman H. Hettler

 

I’m glad that we took the trip! It was definitely worth the time. If, however, you are only able to take one trip from Munising (either Pictured Rocks or Shipwreck), I’d strongly suggest that you opt for the Pictured Rocks cruise. As I said before, I’d definitely do that again!

Wreckage of the Bermuda

 

Anchor of Herman H. Hettler

East Channel Lighthouse

 

Up Next: WIDMSV – Munising: Muldoon’s & Open Wings; Marquette: Irish Rover

 

Would you like to subscribe to my blog? (Oh, yes, it’s free!) Hopefully, you have already clicked on the title and are now directly in my blog page. If you have not gotten to the blog page, click on the title of the Posting and it will take you to the blog. That’s okay, we’ll wait! At the top of the blog, you should see a button with “Follow” next to it. If you click that button, a checkmark should show up. At that point, you should be subscribed. (WordPress is one of the easiest blogs to work with, and I’m still frequently befuddled with how it works!)

Looking forward to “seeing” you here on Colmel’s Blog!

Leave a Reply

