Atlanta in the Spring

If you’re reading this in email or on Facebook, click on the title! It will take you directly to the blog (an easier viewing page.) If you’re already in my blog, WELCOME! (One more hint: If you click on any of the photos in the blog, they should open up in a browser window so you can get a better look!)

Ah…… Atlanta in the Spring!

You probably remember that I’m a “southern” girl. I lived my whole life (well, except for a 6-month period of college study in London – which is another story, all together) in the south. From January 1981 until August 2003, I lived in the Atlanta area. I always loved Atlanta in the Spring. There are SO many flowers! It’s one of those areas that gets the best of it all.


Yes, you have to replant tulips annually because it really doesn’t get cold enough – long enough for them, but the daffodils seem to get enough winter to thrive.


Then there are the azaleas!!!

 
 


Add to that white and pink dogwoods, Bradford pears, redbuds, peaches, weeping cherry, rhododendrons, camellias, and assorted flowering shrubs, vines and ground covers.

Atlanta reminds me of a southern belle who puts on her best frilly dress every spring. While we get a beautiful Spring in Michigan, it’s spread out over a much more protracted period. It’s more sedate and subdued (although more anticipated due to the normal winters). Atlanta jumps right in your face and says, “Here I am! Aren’t I gorgeous?”

I miss Atlanta’s Springs.

Up Next: Hail to the Chief

Would you like to subscribe to my blog? (Oh, yes, it’s free!) If you have already clicked on the title and are now directly in my blog page, go to the bottom left hand portion of the page. If you have not gotten to the blog page, click on the title of the Posting and it will take you to the blog. That’s okay, we’ll wait! Below the “Leave a Reply” area, you will see two checkboxes. The “Notify me of new posts via email” will take you through the steps to subscribe.

Leave a Reply

