Auld Lang Syne

If you’re reading this in email or on Facebook, click on the title! It will take you directly to the blog (an easier viewing page.) If you’re already in my blog, WELCOME! (One more hint: If you click on any of the photos in the blog, they should open up in a browser window so you can get a better look!)

“Should old acquaintance be forgot, and never brought to mind?
Should old acquaintance be forgot, and old lang syne?”

Once again, I’m changing horses mid-stream. I’d planned for the next post to be an account of snowshoeing – and how NOT to do it. That changed, the day before yesterday, when I happened upon a website that had wonderful tribute to a very, dear old friend of ours – Dallas Mark Yother. Mark was my mentor in the thoroughbred business back in the 1980s and 1990s. Those were some of the happiest – and heart-wrenching days of my life. I must say, though, that the time spent we spent with Mark and at M&A Acres (named for Mark and his wonderful wife of 51 years, Adelaide) were extraordinary. I started to become the horsewoman I always wanted to be under Mark’s tutelage. Jim and I spent some wonderful times fishing for giant bream in their farm pond. I walked through hilly fields, played with babies (foals), caught up yearlings, rode a special horse named Rocko, learned how to properly bathe a horse, understood the importance of a hoof-pick, figured out the proper way a horse is put on and taken off a hot-walker, and spent hours and hours pouring over stallion directories learning equine bloodlines. I even helped foal our first homebred thoroughbred foal there. To me, it was a magical place – far removed from the everyday.

So, today, in this blog, I want to remember some very special beings – human, canine, feline, and equine– who have either left this life or who are far too far away and terribly missed.

Here’s to you: Daddy (first, foremost, and forever in my heart); Mother Pappas; my dear friend, Peggy (gone too soon); Mummo; Gram; Aunt Jean; Mark;  and members of my family that I haven’t seen in WAY too long – I miss you.

A toast and tears for: Cheyenne, Blizzard, Liesel, Guinevere and Chief. Smiles through tears remembering Sam (the best cat, ever), Chat Chat, Naco, Leila, Takoo, and Cooney. And wishing I could go back to days with Permanent Cut, Untarnished, Rocko, American Prize, Stormy Creek, Biblion, Mr. TriPower, Mr. Kelly and all the wonderful horses at M&A and at Haynes Farm inLexington,Kentucky.

What will 2012 bring? I can only hope that – for all of us – we have moments that will become beautiful memories in years to come. For you, my friends, I wish only happiness, health, and success in whatever you do. Mostly, I wish you all the good things you wish for yourselves. Peace!

“…We’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet, for auld lang syne.”

Up Next: Of Snowshoes and Face Plants

Would you like to subscribe to my blog? (Oh, yes, it’s free!) If you have already clicked on the title and are now directly in my blog page, go to the bottom left hand portion of the page. If you have not gotten to the blog page, click on the title of the Posting and it will take you to the blog. That’s okay, we’ll wait! Below the “Leave a Reply” area, you will see two checkboxes. The “Notify me of new posts via email” will take you through the steps to subscribe.

Leave a Reply

