My Letter to Santa

If you’re reading this in email or on Facebook, click on the title! It will take you directly to the blog (an easier viewing page.) If you’re already in my blog, WELCOME! (One more hint: If you click on any of the photos in the blog, they should open up in a browser window so you can get a better look!)

Have you ever heard that “bad” little boys and girls only get coal and switches in their Christmas stockings? That was a story I heard from my family as long as I can remember. I’m going to get on my soapbox just a little here and write the first letter to Santa in over 40 years.

Santa, I know I haven’t written to you in a long time. My days for asking you for presents are long past. I do have one request for you, though. Please, you should never bring coal and/or switches. Let me tell you why. I got coal and switches in my stocking when I was three. Do you remember? That’s the only thing I do remember about that Christmas. I cried almost the entire day and was too tired to eat with the family. What on earth could a three-year-old child do that was so bad that it was worth ruining Christmas for? I do remember wondering what I did. There was no note from you explaining what I’d done wrong.

So, Santa, this year – and going forward – how about holding off on the coal and switches and writing a little letter from your notes about what specific naughty things were really worth pointing out as transgressions. You’ll help remind the children what they shouldn’t do and reinforce good behavior. You’ll make your point, dear Santa, but you won’t ruin any child’s day. If I can remember the hurt so vividly, over 50 years later, it obviously runs counter to what you stand for.

Thanks for listening, Santa! Oh, and by the way, I HAVE been a very, good girl this year. But, you already knew that.

Up Next: What do YOU do for New Years Eve?

Would you like to subscribe to my blog? (Oh, yes, it’s free!) If you have already clicked on the title and are now directly in my blog page, go to the bottom left hand portion of the page. If you have not gotten to the blog page, click on the title of the Posting and it will take you to the blog. That’s okay, we’ll wait! Below the “Leave a Reply” area, you will see two checkboxes. The “Notify me of new posts via email” will take you through the steps to subscribe.

2 thoughts on “My Letter to Santa

  1. Loved this post, Melissa.Wishing for you lots of good girl gifts which I’m sure you’ll receive…you’ve been very good.

    • Thanks, dear friend! I know Santa was good to you – you’ve been a very good girl this year, too! Hope to see you before a whole lot longer.

Leave a Reply

