Fairies in My Garden (Fireflies vs. Lightning Bugs)

If you’re reading this in email, click on the title! It will take you directly to the blog (an easier viewing page.) If you’re already in my blog, WELCOME!

I love this time of year. No, it’s not the heat and humidity that I enjoy, it’s the evenings! As long as I can remember, I’ve loved summer evenings for one specific reason – fairies!

 

There are fairies in my garden! One of my earliest memories is my “aunt” Jean (my mother’s, cousin’s wife – hence the need to call her “Aunt”) telling me that the little flying lights that started up just around dark were fairies. I spent so many summer nights in North Carolina with my friend, Zana Avis, running around chasing fairies. Even after I knew that they were fireflies, I thought of them as fairies.

 

I don’t remember there being many fireflies in Florida when I was growing up. They seemed to be part of my North Carolina/Tennessee summers. Even in Georgia for the twenty-odd years I lived there, fireflies were scarce.

 

Now, here I am in Michigan, and there are fireflies everywhere at night. I suppose we have so many because we’re in the woods. Starting around the fourth of July, the yard, the bushes, the trees and the sky are full of sparkling lights. It’s almost as though they start celebrating the same time we celebrate our American independence.

Every time I see my yard full of light, I remember my wonderful Aunt Jean (God rest her) and those innocent summers so long ago when there were fairies.

So, what do you call them? Fairies? Fireflies? Lightning Bugs? Do you have them in your yard?

Up Next: Little Faces

Would you like to subscribe to my blog? (Oh, yes, it’s free!) If you have already clicked on the title and are now directly in my blog page, go to the bottom left hand portion of the page. If you have not gotten to the blog page, click on the title of the Posting and it will take you to the blog. That’s okay, we’ll wait! Below the “Leave a Reply” area, you will see two checkboxes. The “Notify me of new posts via email” will take you through the steps to subscribe.

6 thoughts on “Fairies in My Garden (Fireflies vs. Lightning Bugs)

  1. I call them “lightnin bugs”. Nice memory with Aunt Jean. Kyleigh was fascinated the first time she saw them. Even though she is almost a teenager she will love the fairy idea. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

