A Southern Belle in the Wolverines’ Court (with apologies to Mark Twain)

Another year of being in Michigan is upon us, and it amazes me that we’ve been here almost 8 years (August). At first, I truly felt like a red fish swimming in a blue-fish pond. My accent is different, the food I always ate was different, I knew next-to-nothing about winter, and I knew virtually no one here. Then I started meeting and getting to know people. I realized that I could be happy here as long as I realized that good people are good people no matter where they are, (and there are a**holes everywhere, too (LOL)). I think part of the bond between people up here is the shared misery of winter. This past one was a DOOZY! (See photo) 

Not that there isn’t quite a bit to do here in the winter… There’s drinking (okay, so that’s not a full-time occupation), snowmobiling (which I DO plan to do this next winter – but watch, there won’t be any snow. Is that bad?!?) There’s also skiing (forget that – I’m way to uncoordinated for that) and snowshoes. I can do the snowshoe thing if I remember that I need poles. Otherwise, it’s a face-plant – which I’ve done.

One day we do intend to move to our ~30 acres in TN, but while we’re here, I’m making the absolute best of it.

It’s hummingbird season at our house, and it’s my favorite time of year. The little guys showed up a little early this year (amazing as our winter was much longer, colder, and wetter than normal). Usually, they will arrive, stay for a few days, and then move on. This makes way for those who show up and stay. This year, though, they all showed up and decided to stay. We have many more birds at this time of year than in years past. Perhaps it’s due to more feeders than before or that there seem to be fewer bees on the feeders. Our first banding session is being planned for next week. It will be interesting to see how many we can band and how many are returnees.

 Another species that we’re seeing many more of this year is Baltimore Orioles. (This is the male in the photo. The female is usually almost uniformly yellow-orange.)

These gorgeous birds have all but taken over our yard. We must have close to 20 (males and females, inclusive). They will empty a hummingbird feeder in no time, flat, so I purchased three dedicated feeders that hold oranges, grape jelly, and nectar, too. I found that they much prefer the grape jelly, so I offer that and the oranges. The nectar I save for the hummingbirds.

 Here is the photo of the feeder I’ve found that works amazingly well. It’s been so successful, I’ve bought one for my sister-in-law, Kathy, and for a coworker. I’m so glad that I found these as they are easy to clean, and they offer everything a hungry oriole wants.

 

Next time, “Hummers in Michigan!” Photos and results of our first banding session in our yard for the year.

Coming soon – more info on area Farmers’ Markets, festivals, and fun!

Coming later this summer – a trip to the UP (that’s Upper Peninsula– part of the state completely unattached to the LP Lower Peninsula – to those of you from down south).

Looking forward to “seeing” you here on Colmel’s Blog!

3 thoughts on “A Southern Belle in the Wolverines’ Court (with apologies to Mark Twain)

  1. And I thought our winter was rough : ) I like your attitude-and you can tell from you’re words you have made the best of it-even if you were unsure at first. Love the bird pics-I didn’t even know you could feed them jelly!

    • Just like anywhere, it takes a little time to get your bearings. Michigan is a gorgeous state, even if it DOES get colder than a coal-digger’s fanny. I sure enjoy the nature here. Lots of birds in the trees and fawns gambolling in the yard.

Leave a Reply

